IAPSS President

The President of IAPSS presides over the Executive Committee (ExCom) and therefore serves as someone who providing key impulses and suggesting strategic orientations for the organisation. Each year, the President gets elected in the General Assembly which decides over all members of the Executive and Supervisory Committee. Together with the Treasurer and the Secretary General, the President is the legal representative of the organization and has the responsibility to report on the activities of the Executive Committee to the General Assembly.

For general inquiries please feel free to contact the President at president@iapss.org

Justin Patrick

Justin has a bachelor’s degree in political science and history from the University of Ottawa and a master’s in political science from the University of Toronto. He is currently in his first year of a PhD at the University of Toronto with the goal of writing a political theory of student government. His past experience includes various roles as a public servant for the Government of Canada, as well as about a decade of student activism and advocacy. In the latter half of the 2010s, he helped establish a political movement to challenge corruption in the Student Federation of the University of Ottawa (SFUO), which culminated in University of Ottawa students voting in a referendum in 2019 to abolish the SFUO and establish a new student government, the University of Ottawa Students’ Union (UOSU), an unprecedented event in Canadian politics referred to as the UOSU Revolution. In 2014, he founded Campus Vibez uOttawa (CVUO), an organization that provides communication services to extracurricular groups on the University of Ottawa campus. Today, CVUO not only promotes for over 300 extracurricular groups, but administers the entire UOSU clubs registration system.
Justin has also served as Internal Commissioner of the University of Toronto Graduate Students Union (UTGSU’s), during which he revived the UTGSU Policy and Operations Committee to a functional capacity and helped bring about a number of changes to update UTGSU’s guiding documents. He served as IAPSS Events Social Media Coordinator during the 2018-19 academic year and then Secretary General in 2019-2020.
As IAPSS President, Justin’s priorities include ensuring all political science students have easy access to participate in IAPSS’ democratic processes and make their voices heard at all levels of government, as well as expanding IAPSS’ networks of partners and working with other student governments from around the world to establish a Global Student Government to represent all students of all subjects and develop regular student collaboration across national and continental borders.